Close to Home has been a part of the UConn community since 2006. This annual fundraising campaign provides UConn’s faculty and staff an opportunity to make a gift to the University in a personally meaningful way. The Close to Home committee is co-chaired by two distinguished and respected members of UConn’s faculty and staff, Jennifer Person '92 and Thomas Long. 

The Close to Home committee encourages all faculty and staff to make a contribution to support UConn in an area that is meaningful to them. UConn employees can determine where their contribution goes: a specific school or college, student support, the performing arts or museums, athletics or other worthwhile programs.

Every donation, regardless of size, is important because when those closest to the University show their dedication and pride in the institution, it signifies to alumni and others that UConn’s education, research and public service missions are worthy of their support, too. 

Here's a list of areas at UConn you can support.



Congratulations to Bryan Hallinan '14, the first recipient of the UConn Faculty and Staff Close to Home Campaign Scholarship Fund for Students.  Read more about how UConn faculty and staff are supporting this fund and students like Bryan!


Listen to fellow UConn faculty and staff members share why they give.



The Close to Home Committee

Members of the Close to Home Campaign Committee are donors to the University of Connecticut and serve as leaders inspiring others to invest in our University through charitable giving.

Thomas Long, Associate Professor-in-Residence, School of Nursing
Jennifer Person ’92, Director of University Payroll Office


Andre Archambault, Telecommunications Network Consultant, UITS
Alexinia Baldwin ‘72, Professor Emeritus of Curriculum and Instruction
Leonard P. Blanks, Jr. ’86, Senior Designer, University Communications
Harold Brody, Distinguished Professor, Materials Science & Engineering
Brian G. Chapman, Director of Outreach, Director of OLLI, UConn–Waterbury
Robin Coulter, Professor and Department Head, Marketing, School of Business
Paul Desmarais, Operating Systems Programmer, UITS
M. Kevin Fahey, Emeritus Staff, Student Affairs
Andrew Gibson, Dining Services Area Assistant Manager
Frank Gifford ‘94, Associate Vice President for Development, UConn Foundation
Fany D. Hannon ‘08, Director of Puerto Rican/ Latin American Cultural Center
Shawn Kornegay, Director of Marketing & Communications, Neag School of Education
Lisa Mikolinski, Program Director, Donor Relations and Grants, UITS
Stacey Murdock ’12, Division of Student Affairs Alumni Relations Coordinator
Suresh Nair, Professor, School of Business
Akiko Nishiyama, Professor, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
David Ouimette, Executive Program Director, First Year Programs and Learning Communities
Mary Ann Phaneuf, Assistant Director, Experiential Education, School of Pharmacy
Kristopher E. Perry ’12, Director, Office of Veterans Affairs and Military Programs
Rodney Rock ‘91, Director of Jorgensen Center for the Performing Arts
Roxanne M. Roy, Senior Financial Planner/Advisor, Office of the Chief Financial Officer 
Ronald Sabatelli ’95, ’80, Professor and Department Head, Human Development and Family Studies
William Stwalley, Board of Trustees Distinguished Professor of Physics 
Janene Vandi ‘92, Business Manager, Avery Point


2014_CTH_brochure.jpgWays to Give

There are four quick and easy ways to give:

  • Payroll Deduction. $1 or more per pay period can be deducted from your paycheck and designated to the fund of your choice until you ask for it to stop, or until you reach your giving goal. You may download the pledge form and mail to the Foundation address below or fax to the attention of Karen LaMalva, director of annual giving.
  • Online. Click here to make a gift online through our secure giving page!
  • Phone. Please call the UConn Foundation at 860-486-1173.


  • Mail. Complete the pledge form
    Mail a check with it, payable to:
    The University of Connecticut Foundation, Inc.
    2390 Alumni Drive Unit 3206
    Storrs, CT 06269-3206

Increase the Value of Your Gift

Does your spouse work for a company that matches gifts? More than 8,000 U.S. companies match their employees’ gifts to the UConn Foundation. Learn more about our matching gift program or contact your human resources department to find out if your employer matches gifts made to the Foundation.



Bookmark and Share